Album Details

Blues, Country Blues, Regional Blues, Pre-War Country Blues, Piedmont Blues, Acoustic Blues

Album Review

Like volume one and three of the series of LPs Anderson did for Bluesville, this was recorded in 1961 (though it was recorded in New York City whereas the others were recorded in Spartanburg, SC). Volumes one and three were mostly traditional songs; these are all traditional songs in the public domain. It follows that if you liked volumes one and three, you'd probably like this too; if you want to choose just one, you're about as well off with any of the individual volumes. If you had to split hairs, it seems that Anderson sounds a bit more comfortable in the studio/recording setting on this one than on the others, and a tad less countrified and more urbane. The tone is cheerful and easygoing, like that of a well-loved man entertaining his neighbors. Which is not to say this is a throwaway; the phrasing and rhythms are crisp, and the ragtime-speckled folk/blues guitar accomplished.
Richie Unterberger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. I Got Mine
  2. Greasy Greens
  3. I Got a Woman 'Way Cross Town
  4. Travelin' Man
  5. Ain't Nobody Home But Me
  6. That's No Way to Do
  7. In the Jailhouse Now
  8. South Forest Boogie
  9. Chicken
  10. I'm Going to Walk Through the Streets of the City
purchase full album