Album Details

Warner Bros.
Pop/Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, College Rock, Dance-Rock, Punk/New Wave, New Wave, Post-Punk

Album Review

Following the botched collaboration with David Byrne on Mesopotamia, the B-52's decided to craft their fourth album as a return to the pop-culture funk explosion of their debut. Smartly, they decided to not simply replicate the skewed Southern funk of that album, choosing to update their signature sound with drum machines and new wave synths. As a result, it now sounds a little forced and dated, but the best moments -- "Legal Tender," "Whammy Kiss," "Butterbean," "Song for a Future Generation" -- rank as B-52's classics, and the entire record is certainly entertaining, even with its faults. [Whammy! was originally released with a cover of Yoko Ono's "Don't Worry." When the time came to reissue the CD in 1989, the group ran into copyright troubles with Ono and the song was pulled, replaced by "Moon 83."]
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Legal Tender
  2. Whammy Kiss
  3. Song for a Future Generation
  4. Butterbean
  5. Trism
  6. Queen of Las Vegas
  7. Moon 83
  8. Big Bird
  9. Work That Skirt
purchase full album