Album Details

Jazz, Fusion, Progressive Jazz, Jazz Instrument, Guitar Jazz

Album Review

Guitarist John Abercrombie's first in a long line of recordings for ECM was also his debut as a leader. Teamed up with Jan Hammer (who here plays organ, synthesizer, and piano) and drummer Jack DeJohnette, Abercrombie plays four of his originals, plus two by Hammer. These performances differ from many of the guitarist's later ECM dates in that Hammer injects a strong dose of fusion into the music, and there is plenty of spirited interplay between those two with fine support by DeJohnette. Thought-provoking and occasionally exciting music that generally defies categorization.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Lungs
  2. Love Song
  3. Ralph's Piano Waltz
  4. Red and Orange
  5. Remembering
  6. Timeless
purchase full album