Album Details

Vocal Music, Bop, Vocal Jazz, Post-Bop, Swing, Soul Jazz

Album Review

A song's melody is simply a reference point and a beginning for Carter; she takes words and inverts, probes and extends them, embellishes themes, changes moods and alters rhythms. She's a vocal improviser in a manner few have equaled, and if her voice lacks the clarity and timbre of the all-time greats, she's more than compensated with incredible timing, flexibility and power. Throughout this 11-track effort, Carter's vocals direct and steer the responses of pianist Cyrus Chestnut, bassist Ariel J. Roland and drummer Lewis Nash. It was yet another memorable outing for Betty Carter, an all-time great.
Ron Wynn, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Naima's Love Song
  2. Stay as Sweet as You Are
  3. Make Him Believe
  4. I Should Care
  5. Once upon a Summertime
  6. You Go to My Head
  7. In the Still of the Night
  8. When It's Sleepy Time Down South
  9. The Love We Had Yesterday
  10. Dip Bag
  11. You're Mine, You
purchase full album