Album Details

Jazz, Free Funk, Post-Bop, Jazz Instrument, M-Base, Saxophone Jazz

Album Review

Steve Coleman's debut recording as a leader was the beginning of the documentation of his M-Base music on record. Coleman teams up with some of his top associates of the era, including pianist Geri Allen, bassist Lonnie Plaxico, and drummer Marvin "Smitty" Smith; plus, there are guest appearances by Cassandra Wilson (who sings on "No Good Time Fairies") and trumpeter Graham Haynes. The funky yet creative music has less crowded ensembles than Coleman's upcoming records would, and serves as a fine showcase for the talented and strikingly original altoist who contributed six of the eight numbers.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Irate Blues
  2. Another Level
  3. Cüd Ba-Rith
  4. Wights Waits for Weights
  5. No Good Time Fairies
  6. On This
  7. The Glide Was in the Ride
  8. Motherland Pulse