Album Details

October 14, 2008
Pop/Rock, Indie Electronic, Alternative/Indie Rock, Noise Pop

Album Review

Tobacco is the name of one of the driving forces behind Black Moth Super Rainbow and his first solo album. Fucked Up Friends is an almost exact replica of the now trademarked BMSR sound. All the hallmarks are there; the walls of squelchy synths, the oscillating melodies, the vocoder-ed vocals and the overall woozy and intoxicating bear hug of sound that envelops you from the start. The mysterious album artwork and wacky songtitles are in full force too ("Hairy Candy," "Little Pink Riding Hood," and "Berries That Burn" being particular favorites this time), so are the songs you'll find hard to get out of your head even if you wanted to (try "Hairy Candy," "Side 8 (Big Gums Version)," and "Grease Wizard"). Tobacco on his own is just as squeamishly pink and sticky as BMSR, just as garish, just as strange, and just as much fun. The only change-up Tobacco throws in is adding a bit more hip-hop punch to some of the beats and bringing in Aesop Rock to deliver a pissed off rap on "Dirt." Otherwise, it's business as unusual and for the BMSR, their business has always been making challenging, inventive, and above all, hilariously fun, music. Fucked Up Friends represents barely any change in the status quo whatsoever.
Tim Sendra, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Street Trash
  2. Truck Sweat
  3. Hairy Candy
  4. Hawker Boat
  5. Side 8 [Big Gums Version]
  6. Yum Yum Cult
  7. Berries That Burn
  8. Get My Nails Did
  9. Dirt
  10. Gross Magik
  11. Little Pink Riding Hood
  12. Backwoods Altar
  13. [Untitled]
  14. Tape Eater
  15. Pink Goo
  16. Grease Wizard
purchase full album