Album Details

November 11, 1955
JVC Victor
Vocal Music, Traditional Pop

Album Review

The title Why Do I Love You speaks volumes about the emotional context of Helen Carr's approach -- equal parts heartbreak, frustration, and resignation, her tough but tender vocals capture the dark side of romance at its most affecting. This Bethlehem session features backing from the likes of Red Mitchell, Howard Roberts, and Cappy Lewis, and their nuanced contributions further underscore the intimacy of Carr's performance. The song selection is also excellent, forgoing overworked standards in favor of more apropos material like "Lonely Street," "My Kind of Trouble Is You," and "Then You've Never Been Blue."
Jason Ankeny, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Be Careful, It's My Heart
  2. My Kind of Trouble Is You
  3. Lonely Street
  4. Symphony
  5. You're Getting to Be a Habit with Me
  6. Bye Bye Baby
  7. Then You've Never Been Blue
  8. Summer Night
  9. Got a Date with an Angel
  10. Why Do I Love You?
  11. Do I Worry?
  12. I've Got A Feelin' You're Foolin'
purchase full album