Album Details

September 11, 1952
Jazz, Dixieland, Jazz Instrument, Trombone Jazz

Album Review

The first recording by trombonist Wilbur DeParis' "New New Orleans Jazz Band" (although it was actually released after their 1955 session) is full of fresh and lively Dixieland. DeParis and his all-stars (cornetist Sidney DeParis, clarinetist Omer Simeon, pianist Don Kirkpatrick, banjoist Eddie Gibbs, bassist Harold Jackson and drummer Freddie Moore) play a wide variety of material which includes the leader's colorful "Martinique," "Under the Double Eagle," Rachmaninoff's "Prelude in C Sharp Minor," a couple of Jelly Roll Morton tunes and "When the Saints Go Marching In"; the second part of the latter is taken at a blistering tempo. The DeParis band was one of the most consistently inventive Dixieland-oriented groups of the 1950s, so it is very unfortunate that its valuable Atlantic LPs are all long out-of-print.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Martinique
  2. Tres Moutarde (Too Much Mustard)
  3. Under the Double Eagle
  4. Shreveport Stomp
  5. When the Saints Go Marching In
  6. The Pearls
  7. Hindustan
  8. Prelude in C Sharp Minor
  9. Battle Hymn of the Republic
  10. Marchin' and Swingin'
  11. Sensation