Album Details

Original Jazz Classics
Jazz, Big Band, Swing

Album Review

This was an excellent outing by the Count Basie Orchestra during its later years. Actually, half of this album features a medium-sized group from Basie's big band, but his orchestra usually had the feel of a small group anyway. Soloists at this late stage include Eric Dixon and Kenny Hing on tenors, trombonist Booty Wood, altoist Danny Turner and four different trumpeters. The rhythm section is of course instantly recognizable and the music is very much in the Basie tradition.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Way Out Basie
  2. St. Louis Blues
  3. Beaver Junction
  4. Lester Leaps In
  5. Blues for the Barbecue
  6. I Don't Know Yet
  7. Ain't That Something
  8. Jumpin' at the Woodside
purchase full album