Album Details

July 18, 1990
Jazz, Contemporary Jazz, Vocal Jazz, Standards

Album Review

Dee Dee Bridgewater's move to France awhile back has resulted in her having a relatively low profile in jazz. This excellent live set should help restore her reputation. Whether it be a three-song Horace Silver medley, the warhorse "All of Me," Jobim's "How Insensitive," "Night in Tunisia" or the rarely performed "Strange Fruit," Bridgewater (who is backed by a French rhythm section) is in top form, singing with swing and sensitivity.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. All of Me
  2. How Insensitive (Insensatez)
  3. Just Friends
  4. A Child Is Born
  5. Strange Fruit
  6. A Night in Tunisia
  7. Horace Silver Medley: Sister Sadie/Next Time I Fall in Love/Se├▒or Blu
purchase full album