Album Details

December 30, 1991
Criss Cross
Jazz, Hard Bop

Album Review

Other than an obscure date for Jazzland in 1960, this CD was organist Melvin Rhyne's debut as a leader. Famous for his association with Wes Montgomery but in obscurity ever since in Milwaukee, Rhyne gradually emerged during the late '80s and was found to still be in prime form. Joined by guitarist Peter Bernstein and drummer Kenny Washington, Rhyne had the rare opportunity of being the center of attention on this set, which includes a variety of standards (such as "Groovin' High," "Old Folks" and "Stompin' at the Savoy") plus Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis' "Licks A-Plenty" and Montgomery's "The Trick Bag." The easily recommended CD concludes with a lengthy "Blues for Wes," which finds trumpeter Brian Lynch and tenor saxophonist Don Braden making the group a quintet.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Licks-A-Plenty
  2. Serenata
  3. Stompin' at the Savoy
  4. The Trick Bag
  5. Old Folks
  6. Next Time You See Me
  7. Groovin' High
  8. Blues for Wes
purchase full album