Album Details

May 11, 2010
Pop/Rock, Rap-Metal, Alternative Metal, Heavy Metal

Album Review

Plead the Fifth - clever title for a fifth album, that - finds Taproot going to back to basics, shedding the melodic flourishes of Blue-Sky Research and the progressive elements of Our Long Road Home in favor of the heavy grind of their first two albums. Being children of the new millennium nu-metal, Taproot’s metal isn’t exactly simple: they favor swings in dynamics and rhythm, alternating shouts and chants with drowning harmonies in fifths. If Taproot doesn’t necessarily find melodic throughlines they nevertheless know how to construct vehicles for their flair, which is darker and heavier than it has been in some time…and that may be enough to please the hardcore who were dismayed by the band’s ambition of late.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Now Rise
  2. Game Over
  3. Fractured (Everything I Said Was True)
  4. Release Me
  5. Stolage
  6. 911ost
  7. Trophy Wifi
  8. Words Don't Mean a Thing
  9. Left Behind
  10. No View Is True
  11. Stares
purchase full album