Album Details

Rhythm & Blues, Southern Soul, Soul, Urban

Album Review

Brown reintroduces Bettye Crutcher's forgettable tune, "Long on Lovin'" which wasThe best is the title tune with its churchy arpeggios and Brown's shrilly wailing of it. "Hearts Are Made to Be Loved" is a tear-jerking midtempo that Brown shrieks through as though it were a personal confession. Then, "Take It Like a Woman" finds her in a feisty mood as she breaks the news to a woman that she's taken her man from her. The remnant is pleasant, mostly in the same midtempo seventies soul style and sure to satisfy Brown's usual connoisseurs.
Bil Carpenter, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Joy and Pain
  2. Hearts Are Make to Be Loved
  3. Take It Like a Women
  4. It's a Pleasure Easin' Your Pain
  5. You're Gonna Make Me Cry
  6. A Two-Way Thang
  7. 'Bout to Make Me Leave Home
  8. You Know What You're Gettin' at Home
  9. It Don't Hurt Like It Used To
  10. Long on Lovin'
purchase full album