Album Details

July 13, 1993
Zoo Entertainment
Pop/Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Power Pop

Album Review

Compared to the concise songwriting of Girlfriend, Altered Beast is all over the place, both emotionally and musically. Ranging from piercing guitar rave-ups ("Dinosaur Act") to gorgeous country-rock ("Time Capsule"), the album not only covers all sides of Matthew Sweet's musical personality, but pastes them together haphazardly. Consequently, it takes a bit of time for all of it to make sense, but after a few listens, it falls together, and its best moments equal Girlfriend.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Dinosaur Act
  2. Devil with the Green Eyes
  3. The Ugly Truth
  4. Time Capsule
  5. Someone to Pull the Trigger
  6. Knowing People
  7. Life Without You
  8. Intro
  9. Ugly Truth Rock
  10. Do It Again
  11. In Too Deep
  12. Reaching Out
  13. Falling
  14. What Do You Know?
  15. Evergreen
purchase full album