Album Details

Rhythm & Blues, Soul, House, Club/Dance, Dance-Pop, Urban, Contemporary R&B

Album Review

When American urban-contemporary radio was bombarding its listeners with one Guy clone after another in the late '80s and early '90s, British neo-soulsters like Soul II Soul, Lisa Stansfield, and the Chimes offered highly creative and gutsy alternatives. With influences ranging from Chic to hip-hop to African music, Soul II Soul's debut album, Keep on Movin' (titled Club Classics, Vol. 1 in its original British incarnation), was among the most rewarding R&B releases of 1989. Soul II Soul leader/producer/composer Jazzie B takes one risk after another -- all of which pay off. The group enjoyed major hits with the Chic-influenced gems "Keep on Movin'" and "Back to Life" (both of which feature the gifted Caron Wheeler), and equally superb are the African-influenced reflections of "Dance" and "Holdin' On," the soulful grit and intensity of "Feel Free," and the hypnotic house music of "Happiness." Though Wheeler was Soul II Soul's best-known singer and went on to enjoy a career as a solo artist, Rose Windross and Do'Reen (both expressive soul divas) also do their part to make Keep on Movin' the artistic triumph that it is.
Alex Henderson, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Keep on Movin'
  2. Fairplay
  3. Holdin' On
  4. Feeling Free
  5. African Dance
  6. Dance
  7. Feel Free
  8. Happiness
  9. Back to Life
  10. Jazzie's Groove