Album Details

Rap, Gangsta Rap, Funk, West Coast Rap, Soundtracks, Soul, G-Funk, Hardcore Rap

Album Review

By 1995, R&B and hip-hop artists expended some of their greatest creative energy on soundtracks, turning in compilation albums that frequently were more compulsively listenable and adventurous than solo artist collections. Friday was no exception. The soundtrack to a lightweight comedy co-written by Ice Cube, the record conveys all the strengths of hit urban radio. Keeping all the good elements of the format -- including the G-funk of Dr. Dre, old-school soul, contemporary R&B, and gangsta rap -- the record sounds like a "Best of the '90s" collection.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Friday
  2. Keep Their Heads Ringin'
  3. Friday Night
  4. Lettin' Niggas Know
  5. Roll It up, Light It up, Smoke It Up
  6. Take a Hit
  7. Tryin' to See Another Day
  8. You Got Me Wide Open
  9. Mary Jane
  10. I Wanna Get Next to You
  11. Superhoes
  12. Coast II Coast
  13. Blast If I Have To
  14. Hoochie Mama
  15. I Heard It Through the Grapevine