Album Details

March 07, 2011
EMI Gold
Pop/Rock, Singer/Songwriter, Psychedelic, Soft Rock, Folk-Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Album Rock, British Folk-Rock, AM Pop, Art Rock

Album Review

This 2011 Al Stewart collection from EMI is an odd pairing of his 1976 commercial breakthrough Year of the Cat -- by most measures it's both his most popular album and his best -- and a 1998 compilation called On the Border that rounds up album tracks from the '60s, '70s, '80s, and '90s, all emphasizing his folkier side (a ringer is a live version of "Year of the Cat"). On the Border deliberately bypasses big hits -- one that leaps to mind is "Time Passages," a song as enduring as "Year of the Cat," and "Midnight Rocks" is also missing -- so it's not an ideal supplement to Year of the Cat but it's not a horrible one, either, as the music here is generally strong. Still, there are better ways to hear Al Stewart, either on compilations or proper albums.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. On The Border
  2. Year Of The Cat [Live][Version]
  3. Three Mules
  4. Flying Sorcery
  5. Merlin's Time
  6. Clifton In The Rain
  7. Betty Boop's Birthday
  8. A Man For All Seasons
  9. Song On The Radio
  10. Pandora
  11. Running Man
  12. Night Train To Munich
  13. If It Doesn't Come Naturally Leave It
  14. Life Between The Wars
  15. Fields Of France
  16. You Should Have Listened To Al
  17. Lord Grenville
  18. On The Border
  19. Midas Shadow
  20. Sand In Your Shoes
  21. If It Doesn't Come Naturally Leave It
  22. Flying Sorcery
  23. Broadway Hotel
  24. One Stage Before
  25. Year Of The Cat
  26. On The Border [Live]
  27. Belsize Blues
  28. Story Of The Song