Album Details

Sony Music Distribution

Album Review

Milt Hinton's major label debut as a leader (at age 85), other than a 1955 date for Victor, finds the great bassist utilizing two separate rhythm sections on a variety of standards. In addition to fine solos from pianists Richard Wyands and Derek Smith, there are guest appearances by trumpeter Jon Faddis (who defies his stereotype by sounding closer here to Roy Eldridge than to Dizzy Gillespie) and veteran Harold Ashby whose warm tenor recalls Ben Webster. Even if Hinton's three vocals are one too many, his singing has its charm. The finale "The Judge and the Jury" adds four other bassists for a very musical tribute to one of the few veterans of the 1920s still to be heard in his prime in the mid-'90s.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. A Child Is Born
  2. Sweet Georgia Brown
  3. Laughing at Life
  4. How High the Moon
  5. Prelude to a Kiss
  6. (Back Home Again In) Indiana
  7. Mona's Feeling Lonely
  8. Jon John
  9. Old Man Harlem
  10. Just Friends
  11. The Judge and the Jury
purchase full album