Album Details

Folk, Folk Revival, Traditional Folk

Album Review

This is a confusing CD. In comparison to Vanguard's other folk retrospectives on the New Christy Minstrels and other groups, this is a low-budget, low-rent release in everything but price. The 12 songs are a decent enough selection, though with gaps. Only five of the songs overlap with Columbia's Brothers Four Greatest Hits CD -- the numbers unique to this disc are "Goodnight, Irene," "Hootenanny Saturday Night," "Don't Let the Rain Come Down," "Four Strong Winds," "Silver Threads and Golden Needles," and "Try to Remember." All are worth hearing, though "Hootenanny Saturday Night," "Don't Let the Rain Fall Down," and "Goodnight, Irene" don't necessarily stand out in the memory. The sound is very clean, and care was taken with the choice of songs, but there's not a single bit of annotation about the group or the tracks, making this a curiously frustrating release for its nearly full price.
Bruce Eder, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Greenfields
  2. Blue Water Line
  3. Frogg No. 1
  4. My Tani
  5. Goodnight Irene
  6. Hootenanny Saturday Night
  7. Yellow Bird
  8. The Green Leaves of Summer
  9. Don't Let the Rain Come Down (Crooked Little Man)
  10. Four Strong Winds
  11. Silver Threads and Golden Needles
  12. Try to Remember
purchase full album