Album Details

April 30, 1996
Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Rock & Roll

Album Review

Paul Westerberg's second solo album, Eventually, delivered a full three years after his debut, 14 Songs, illustrates that he has problems telling the difference between maturity and stodginess. Eventually follows the same pattern as 14 Songs, as he balances up-tempo, Stonesy rockers with introspective, folky ballads. Generally, his slower numbers cut the deepest, like the affectionate Bob Stinson tribute, "Good Day" and the heart-tugging "MamaDaddyDid." When Westerberg rocks out, he sounds tired and mannered; neither his riffs nor his performance has the energy of vintage Replacements, or '70s and '80s Stones, for that matter. And the rockers demonstrate the major flaw of Eventually -- its carefully considered production. Though the production is clean and professional, its very slickness emphasizes the uneven quality of Westerberg's songwriting. There are some gems here -- in fact, there are even more this time around than on 14 Songs -- but Westerberg still sounds uncertain of what direction he wants to pursue and how to grow old gracefully.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. These Are the Days
  2. Century
  3. Love Untold
  4. Ain't Got Me
  5. You've Had It With You
  6. MamaDaddyDid
  7. Hide 'N' Seekin'
  8. Once Around the Weekend
  9. Trumpet Clip
  10. Angels Walk
  11. Good Day
  12. Time Flies Tomorrow
purchase full album