Album Details

June 24, 1996
EMI Music Distribution
Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, New Zealand Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, College Rock

Album Review

Recurring Dream is a 19-track collection which assembles most of the band's singles and adds three new studio tracks to entice fans -- "Not the Girl You Think You Are," "Instinct," and "Everything Is Good for You." As a career summary, the collection works fairly well, though the nonchronological sequencing makes for a slightly confusing listen. Nevertheless, for a band with no shortage of great material (there's not a bad album in the bunch), Recurring Dream is a good place to get acquainted with them. Initial pressings also came with a second disc which compiles highlights from the band's always entertaining live shows. Maybe a disc of non-album rarities and B-sides would have been a better choice, but for fans this is an essential addition.
Chris Woodstra, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Weather With You
  2. World Where You Live
  3. Fall at Your Feet
  4. Locked Out
  5. Don't Dream It's Over
  6. Into Temptation
  7. Pineapple Head
  8. When You Come
  9. Private Universe
  10. Not the Girl You Think You Are
  11. Instinct
  12. I Feel Possessed
  13. Four Seasons in One Day
  14. It's Only Natural
  15. Distant Sun
  16. Something So Strong
  17. Mean to Me
  18. Better Be Home Soon
  19. Everything Is Good for You