Album Details

March 17, 1995
K-Tel Distribution
Pop/Rock, Rock & Roll, Hard Rock, Arena Rock

Album Review

While Steppenwolf can take some credit for spawning the heavy metal genre (the term came from the "heavy metal thunder" phrase in "Born to Be Wild"), they remained, at heart, a hard rocking bar band, and this reissue of their 1995 double-disc live set bears witness to that. Now billed as John Kay & Steppenwolf, the band's lineup for the late '90s included original vocalist Kay, Michael Wilk on bass and keyboards, lead guitarist Rocket Ritchotte, and Ron Hurst on drums. Live At 25: Silver Anniversary is a well-paced run-through of their classic hits, which are stretched out a bit, but remain close to their original structure, and Kay's throaty vocals are almost as good as they were in the late '60s. While it undoubtedly would have been fun to see a show on this tour, John Kay's occasional bombastic tendencies, which began to emerge way band back in 1969 on Monster, make this set feel, at times, like a Broadway production of a big, bad, rock band concert. Other than that, it rocks.
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Move Over
  2. Who Needs Ya?
  3. Rocket Ship
  4. Rock Me
  5. I'm Movin' On
  6. Sookie, Sookie
  7. Sign of the Line
  8. (I'm Your) Hoochie Coochie Man
  9. Let's Do It All
  10. Hey Lawdy Mama
  11. Do or Die
  12. Desperation
  13. Hold On
  14. Best of What You Got
  15. Ride With Me
  16. Rock 'N' Roll War
  17. Snowblind Friend
  18. Monster
  19. Rise and Shine
  20. Magic Carpet Ride
  21. Born to Be Wild
  22. The Pusher
  23. Rock and Roll Rebels
purchase full album