Album Details

RELEASE
September 23, 1997
LABEL
Mercury
GENRES
Pop/Rock, Singer/Songwriter, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Adult Contemporary

Album Review

The Big Picture finds Elton John in strong form, turning in a by-now-predictable collection of ballads and pop songs designed to appeal to the adult contemporary audience. The difference is inspiration. With Made in England, John and his collaborator Bernie Taupin showed signs of life, and they continue that winning streak here. There may be nothing new on The Big Picture, but it's well-crafted professional pop, demonstrating John's knack for catchy pop hooks and his way with a ballad. As with any latter-day John album, hits like "Something About the Way You Look Tonight" are balanced out by some filler, but the key to the album is how album tracks like "Recover Your Soul," "If the River Can Bend," and "The Big Picture" carry emotional and melodic weight. It's a solid effort from one of pop's most reliable artists.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Long Way from Happinesshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/long-way-from-happiness/id130205?i=130183&uo=5
  2. Live Like Horseshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/live-like-horses/id130205?i=130185&uo=5
  3. The End Will Comehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-end-will-come/id130205?i=130187&uo=5
  4. If the River Can Bendhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/if-the-river-can-bend/id130205?i=130189&uo=5
  5. Love's Got a Lot to Answer Forhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/loves-got-a-lot-to-answer-for/id130205?i=130191&uo=5
  6. Something About the Way You Look Tonighthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/something-about-way-you-look/id130205?i=130193&uo=5
  7. The Big Picturehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-big-picture/id130205?i=130195&uo=5
  8. Recover Your Soulhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/recover-your-soul/id130205?i=130197&uo=5
  9. Januaryhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/january/id130205?i=130199&uo=5
  10. I Can't Steer My Heart Clear of Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-cant-steer-my-heart-clear/id130205?i=130201&uo=5
  11. Wicked Dreamshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/wicked-dreams/id130205?i=130203&uo=5
purchase full album