Album Details

October 28, 1997
Rap, Hardcore Rap

Album Review

The Psycho Realm's eponymous debut album is an impressive collection of hardcore West Coast gangsta rap. Led by B Real, one of the masterminds behind Cypress Hill, the trio is a dark hardcore outfit -- there's genuine menace in their rhymes and music, which is why it hits so hard. Where other crews deal with cartoonish violence, the Psycho Realm's surrealistic imagery and impressionistic music -- which is still grittily funky -- creates genuine tension. It's not a perfect record -- it runs on a little too long, which has the unfortunate side effect of dulling their message -- but it tries more things than the average hip-hop record, and that alone makes it worth a listen.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Psycho City Blocks/Psycho Interlude
  2. Showdown
  3. The Big Payback
  4. Premonitions
  5. Interlude/Stone Garden/Interlude
  6. Temporary Insanity
  7. Doors Intro/Confrssions of a Drug Addict
  8. Who Are You Interlude/Bullets
  9. Love Letters Intro/Love from the Sick Side
  10. R.U. Experienced/Outro
  11. Psyclones
  12. Lost Cities
  13. La Conceta Intro/La Conecta, Pt. 1
  14. La Conecta, Pt. 2/Goin' in Circles/Outro
purchase full album