Album Details

March 17, 1998
Latin, Salsa, Mambo, Soul Jazz, Latin Pop, World Fusion, Charanga, Cuban Jazz, Boogaloo, Hard Bop, Cuban Traditions, New York Salsa, Latin Jazz, Afro-Cuban Jazz, Tropical

Album Review

Sabroso! The Afro-Latin Groove is a terrific 18-track collection of Latin jazz recorded between 1954 and 1972. Many of the songs here are making their debut appearence on CD, and several of the artists here -- including major artists like Willie Bobo -- are underrepresented on disc, so this is a helpful way to round up cool, groove-oriented cuts by the likes of Bobo, Willie Rosario, Tito Rodriguez, Jue Cuba Sextette, Mongo Santamaria, Cal Tjader, Ocho, Machito, Tito Puente, Charlie Palmieri, Kako and Ray Barretto. It's not a perfect collection, especially since it leans a little too heavily toward the groove, but it has an abundance of hot music and makes for a good introduction to the genre.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Fried Neck Bones and Some Homefries
  2. Watusi Boogaloo
  3. Descarga Cachao
  4. So What
  5. Sweet 'Tater Pie
  6. Picadillo
  7. Undress My Mind
  8. Cocinando Suave
  9. Relax and Mambo
  10. Heat!
  11. Viva Cepeda
  12. Hong Kong Mambo
  13. Salsa y Bembé
  14. Mambo Show
  15. Welcome to the Party
  16. Roots
  17. Oriza
  18. Shingaling Shingaling