Album Details

RELEASE
May 12, 1998
LABEL
GENRES
Rap, Hardcore Rap, East Coast Rap

Album Review

Just as rap music was reaching its toughest, darkest, grimmest period yet, following the assassinations of 2Pac and Biggie in the late '90s, along came DMX and his fellow Ruff Ryders, who embodied the essence of inner-city machismo to a tee, as showcased throughout the tellingly titled It's Dark and Hell Is Hot. Unlike so many other hardcore rappers who are more rhetorical than physical, DMX commands an aggressive aura without even speaking a word. He showcases his chiseled physique on the arresting album cover and trumpets his animalistic nature with frequent barking, growling, and snarling throughout the album. He also collaborates with muscular producers Swizz Beatz and Dame Grease, who specialize in slamming synth-driven beats rather than sample-driven ones. Further unlike so many other hardcore rappers from the time, DMX is meaningful as well as symbolic. He professes an ideology that stresses the inner world -- characterized by such qualities as survival, wisdom, strength, respect, and faith -- rather than the material one that infatuates most rappers of his time. It helpes that his album includes a few mammoth highlights ("Ruff Ryders' Anthem," "Get at Me Dog," "Let Me Fly," and "I Can Feel It") as well as a light, mid-album diversion ("How's It Goin' Down"). The long running length of It's Dark and Hell Is Hot does wear you down after a while, since nearly every song here sans "How's It Goin' Down" hits hard and maintains the album's deadly serious attitude. Even so, It's Dark and Hell Is Hot is a tremendous debut, laying out DMX's complex persona with candor, from his faith in God to his fixation with canine motifs, and doing so with dramatic flair.
Jason Birchmeier, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Introhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/intro/id411625?i=411623&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. Ruff Ryders' Anthemhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/ruff-ryders-anthem/id411625?i=411595&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. Fuckin' Wit' Dhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/fuckin-wit-d/id411625?i=411597&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. The Storm (Skit)http://itunes.apple.com/album/the-storm-skit/id411625?i=411599&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. Look Thru My Eyeshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/look-thru-my-eyes/id411625?i=411601&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. Get At Me Doghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/get-at-me-dog/id411625?i=34195807&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. Let Me Flyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/let-me-fly/id411625?i=34195824&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. Damienhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/damien/id411625?i=411605&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. How's It Goin' Downhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/hows-it-goin-down/id411625?i=411607&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. Mickey (Skit)http://itunes.apple.com/album/mickey-skit/id411625?i=411609&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. Crime Storyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/crime-story/id411625?i=411611&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. Stop Being Greedyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/stop-being-greedy/id411625?i=411613&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  13. Atfhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/atf/id411625?i=411615&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  14. For My Dogshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/for-my-dogs/id411625?i=411617&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  15. I Can Feel Ithttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-can-feel-it/id411625?i=34195836&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  16. Prayer (Skit)http://itunes.apple.com/album/prayer-skit/id411625?i=411619&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  17. The Convohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-convo/id411625?i=34195846&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  18. Niggaz Done Started Somethinghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/niggaz-done-started-something/id411625?i=411621&uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album