Album Details

September 16, 2003
Jade Tree Records
Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Punk Revival, Hardcore Punk, Punk/New Wave

Album Review

East Coast hardcore powerhouse Kid Dynamite split up in 2000. Cheap Shots, Youth Anthems is a collection of rarities and liner note reminiscences from the bandmembers. The band's hardcore energy and frenzied approach is evident throughout the 29 tracks. There are four "classic" cuts taken from the band's two albums; five covers, including a rip-roaring "Hateful" by the Clash and tracks by Black Flag ("Rise Above"), the Circle Jerks ("Deny Everything"), Minor Threat ("I Don't Wanna Hear About It"), and the Dead Kennedys ("Macho Insecurity"); six songs that were singer Jason Shevchuk's audition for the band; seven demo outtakes (four of which were for songs that ended up on its first record); and seven songs recorded on 94 WYSP radio in Philadelphia. The disc also comes with a bonus DVD filled with live footage, show flyers, and other stuff. It is always nice when a band breaks up to have a disc that gathers up all the loose ends. When done right, it can ease the sting of loss for the fans and bring a sense of closure. Jade Tree and Kid Dynamite have done it right. Extra points for the hilarious tribute to the Who's Odds & Sods on the CD's cover.
Tim Sendra, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Heart a Tact
  2. Breakin' a Memory
  3. Give 'Em the Ripped One
  4. Two for Flinching
  5. Rise Above
  6. Deny Everything
  7. Hateful
  8. I Don't Wanna Hear It
  9. Macho Insecurity
  10. Showoff
  11. Sweet Shop Syndicate
  12. Never Met the Gooch
  13. Fuckuturn
  14. Scary Smurf
  15. The Ronald Miller Story
  16. Bookworm [Demo Outtake][Outtake]
  17. The Unheard Chorus [Demo Outtake][Outtake]
  18. 32 Frames Per Second [Demo Outtake][Outtake]
  19. Wrist Wrocket [Demo Outtake][Outtake]
  20. News at 11 [Demo Outtake][Outtake]
  21. Death & Taxes [Demo Outtake][Outtake]
  22. S.O.S. [Demo Outtake][Outtake]
  23. Heart a Tact [Live]
  24. Handy With the Tounge Sword [Live]
  25. K05-0564 [Live]
  26. Never Met the Gooch [Live]
  27. The Penske File [Live]
  28. Ph. Decontrol [Live]
  29. Deny Everything [Live]
  30. [Untitled Hidden Track]
  31. Bonus DVD Video