Album Details

RELEASE
October 19, 2004
LABEL
Geffen
GENRES
Rap, Alternative Rap, East Coast Rap, Political Rap, Rap-Rock

Album Review

When it takes you five years to follow up a debut of near-landmark stature, you're setting yourself up for failure. Mos Def's second solo album is not disastrous, but it's a sprawling, overambitious mess. A handful of songs from this 75-minute affair feature Black Jack Johnson, the rock band Mos set up with some very respected musicians: bassist Doug Wimbish (Sugar Hill house band, Living Colour), drummer Will Calhoun (Living Colour), guitarist Dr. Know (Bad Brains), and keyboardist Bernie Worrell (Parliament/Funkadelic). Unsurprisingly, the hottest moments tend to come when Mos sticks to what he does best. One slight exception to this is "Modern Marvel," a nine-minute suite smeared with a series of Marvin Gaye samples. Mos sings in whispers (he makes Pharrell sound like Luther, but he has the required spirit), momentum floats in as easy as a light breeze, and then the MC shifts into goose pimple-raising mode. Throughout the whole thing, his conviction is apparent.
Andy Kellman, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. The Boogie Man Songhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-boogie-man-song/id25198055?i=25198057&uo=5
  2. Freaky Black Greetingshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/freaky-black-greetings/id25198055?i=25198073&uo=5
  3. Ghetto Rockhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/ghetto-rock/id25198055?i=25198135&uo=5
  4. Zimzallabimhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/zimzallabim/id25198055?i=25198142&uo=5
  5. The Rape Overhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-rape-over/id25198055?i=25198146&uo=5
  6. Blue Black Jackhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/blue-black-jack/id25198055?i=25198149&uo=5
  7. Bedstuy Parade & Funeral Marchhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/bedstuy-parade-funeral-march/id25198055?i=25198177&uo=5
  8. Sex, Love & Moneyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/sex-love-money/id25198055?i=25198184&uo=5
  9. Sunshinehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/sunshine/id25198055?i=25198215&uo=5
  10. Close Edgehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/close-edge/id25198055?i=25198218&uo=5
  11. The Pantieshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-panties/id25198055?i=25198235&uo=5
  12. Warhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/war/id25198055?i=25198239&uo=5
  13. Grown Man Business (Fresh Vintage Bottles)http://itunes.apple.com/album/the-new-danger/id25198055?uo=5
  14. Modern Marvelhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/modern-marvel/id25198055?i=25198255&uo=5
  15. Life Is Realhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/life-is-real/id25198055?i=25198264&uo=5
  16. The Easy Spellhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-easy-spell/id25198055?i=25198267&uo=5
  17. The Beggarhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-beggar/id25198055?i=25198271&uo=5
  18. Champion Requiemhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/champion-requiem/id25198055?i=25198278&uo=5
purchase full album