Album Details

October 19, 2004
Universal Distribution
Rap, Alternative Rap, East Coast Rap, Political Rap, Rap-Rock

Album Review

When it takes you five years to follow up a debut of near-landmark stature, you're setting yourself up for failure. Mos Def's second solo album is not disastrous, but it's a sprawling, overambitious mess. A handful of songs from this 75-minute affair feature Black Jack Johnson, the rock band Mos set up with some very respected musicians: bassist Doug Wimbish (Sugar Hill house band, Living Colour), drummer Will Calhoun (Living Colour), guitarist Dr. Know (Bad Brains), and keyboardist Bernie Worrell (Parliament/Funkadelic). Unsurprisingly, the hottest moments tend to come when Mos sticks to what he does best. One slight exception to this is "Modern Marvel," a nine-minute suite smeared with a series of Marvin Gaye samples. Mos sings in whispers (he makes Pharrell sound like Luther, but he has the required spirit), momentum floats in as easy as a light breeze, and then the MC shifts into goose pimple-raising mode. Throughout the whole thing, his conviction is apparent.
Andy Kellman, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. The Boogie Man Song
  2. Freaky Black Greetings
  3. Ghetto Rock
  4. Zimzallabim
  5. The Rape Over
  6. Blue Black Jack
  7. Bedstuy Parade & Funeral March
  8. Sex, Love & Money
  9. Sunshine
  10. Close Edge
  11. The Panties
  12. War
  13. Grown Man Business (Fresh Vintage Bottles)
  14. Modern Marvel
  15. Life Is Real
  16. The Easy Spell
  17. The Beggar
  18. Champion Requiem
purchase full album