Album Details

Rhythm & Blues, Country Soul, Soul

Album Review

Although Joe Hinton put out an LP that was also titled Funny How Time Slips Away in the mid-'60s on the Backbeat label, this 2006 CD does not have the same track list. It's an entirely different, 21-song compilation of material that Hinton released on Backbeat from around 1964-1968, including of course the title cut, which was the sole big hit he enjoyed. While Hinton was a bit of a journeyman who never settled into a specific niche, these are good if unspectacular sides mixing varying blends of soul, pop, gospel, and a bit of blues, country, and Southern grit now and then. Although a good amount of the material recorded in the wake of "Funny (How Time Slips Away)" is obviously trying to mine the same brassy, urbane soul-pop of that hit, there's also some more standard early soul that makes use of his highest, most gospel-influenced vocal range. The effect sometimes makes him sound a little like a rawer Brook Benton (and in fact, a few of the songs are Benton covers). Yet he did get in a more down-home groove with tracks like "The Whole Town's Talking," which sounds like mid-'60s Motown at its funkiest, while "Don't Tell Her the Truth" could well be the best '60s soul cover of a Paul Anka composition -- not that there are many people keeping count.
Richie Unterberger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Funny (How Time Slips Away)
  2. Pledging My Love
  3. If You Love Me
  4. I'll Get Along Somehow
  5. If It Ain't Onw Thing It's Another
  6. So Close
  7. Endlessly
  8. Everything
  9. True Love
  10. A Thousand Cups of Happiness
  11. Darling Come Talk to Me
  12. Guess Who
  13. Just a Kid Named Joe
  14. Be Ever Wonderful
  15. The Whole Town's Talking
  16. There Oughta Be a Law
  17. Don't Tell Her the Truth
  18. I'm Waiting
  19. Now I'm Satisfied
  20. Got You on My Mind
  21. Baby, Please