Album Details

November 07, 2006
Pop/Rock, Singer/Songwriter, Soft Rock, Folk-Rock, Psychedelic, Album Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock

Album Review

Unlike many entries in Rhino's The Definitive Pop Collection, the Al Stewart volume doesn't merely repackage or edit a previous compilation, nor does it merely offer up the same old hits the way so many of Stewart comps do. This is a new double-disc set that attempts a full retrospective of Stewart's career, from his meandering early folk tunes, through the pop hits, right up to the 1995 album Between the Wars. Although it's easy to spot some missing tunes -- for instance, it would have been nice if his excellent 2005 album A Beach Full of Shells was represented -- it's impossible to argue with what's here since it offers an excellent, representative chronicle of Stewart's career through his biggest hits ("Year of the Cat," "Time Passages") and many of his best songs. Casual listeners will be better served by a strict hits collection, like Rhino's 2004 set Greatest Hits, but for those who want to dig deeper or want a more thorough introduction, The Definitive Pop Collection is the way to go.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Bedsitter Images
  2. Samuel, Oh How You've Changed!
  3. Electric Los Angeles Sunset
  4. Clifton in the Rain
  5. A Small Fruit Song
  6. You Don't Even Know Me
  7. Soho (Needless to Say)
  8. Roads to Moscow
  9. Nostradamus
  10. Carol
  11. Apple Cider Re-Constitution
  12. The Dark and Rolling Sea
  13. On the Border
  14. Lord Grenville
  15. Flying Sorcery
  16. Year of the Cat
  17. Almost Lucy
  18. Time Passages
  19. End of the Day
  20. Running Man
  21. Merlin's Time
  22. Song on the Radio
  23. Where Are They Now?
  24. Red Toupee
  25. Last Days of the Century
  26. Fields of France
  27. Trains
  28. Night Train to Munich
  29. A League of Notions
  30. House of Clocks
  31. Waiting for Margaux
  32. Laughing into 1939